Awards and Honors

The Fu Foundation School of Engineering and Applied Science Awards

The Janette and Armen Avanessians Diversity Award

The Janette and Armen Avanessians Diversity Award was established to recognize outstanding performance of SEAS faculty in enhancing diversity in departmental, school and university programs at Columbia.

The award winner receives a cash prize of $1,000 and a plaque. Nominations are evaluated on the basis of excellence in advancing diversity in SEAS.


Nominees should contribute to diversity enhancement in your department, school and university programs. Diversity enhancement activities include, but are not limited to efforts to integrate and promote diversity-enriching experiences in teaching, research and outreach activities.

Some general criteria to consider when making a nomination might include the following:

  • Proactively increase awareness and appreciation of diversity.
  • Include works of minority and women scientists in reading assignments.
  • Encourage and work towards the establishment of minority scholarships.
  • Invite experts in the field who belong to underrepresented groups as guest presenters.
  • Appraise the language used to communicate research findings from the point of view of underrepresented minorities and women; develop cultural sensitivity.
  • Purposefully help to prepare minorities and women in your field of research.
  • Conduct or facilitate discussions pertaining to diversity and cultural sensitivity for students, faculty and staff in the department or school.
  • Participate in SWE, NSBE, SHPE or AASE and encouraged students to participate in professional organizations.
  • Include underrepresented groups in surveys, test panels, advisory committees, external evaluations, etc.
  • Work with school Diversity Committee members to identify and meet specific diversity needs for the school.
  • Develop awareness and sensitivity within the laboratory/research environment.
  • Encourage minority students to take advantage of study abroad and international experience programs.
Past Recipients of The Janette and Armen Avanessians Diversity Award

2009: Y. Lawrence Yao, Mechanical Engineering

2008: Aron Pinczuk, Applied Mathematics and Applied Physics

2007: Chris Wiggins, Applied Mathematics and Applied Physics

2006: Patricia Culligan, Civil Engineering & Engineering Mechanics and Woonghee Tim Huh, Industrial Engineering and Operations Research

The Kim Award for Faculty Involvement

The Kim Award for Faculty Involvement recognizes a faculty member who has been exceptionally involved in the academic and co-curricular life of students in SEAS. The Kim Award for Faculty Involvement, which includes a $2,000 honorarium and a commemorative plaque, is presented annually at the Class Day ceremony in April


The Kim Award for Faculty Involvement selection committee will consider any combination of the following:

  • How the faculty member "Goes the extra mile" for students.
  • Is unselfishly available to students.
  • Provides additional learning opportunities
  • Is actively involved with student organizations or initiatives
  • Effectively guides students in professional development and/or in research/activity.
  • Demonstration of caring attitude toward students.
  • Effective interpersonal skills.
  • Ability to engage in developmental advising (career and life planning).
  • Behavior designed to build a strong relationship with students.
  • Frequency of contact with students.
  • Seeking out students in informal settings.
  • What contributions has the nominee made to the campus life, as well as the to the individual student growth and development?
Past Recipients of the Kim Award for Faculty Involvement

2008: Upmanu Lall, Earth and Environmental Engineering

2007: Soulaymane Kachani, Industrial Engineering and Operations Research

2006: Barclay Morrison, Biomedical Engineering


National Scientific Honors and Awards: Calendar of Nomination & Proposal Deadlines 


NSF Career Awards for Faculty Early Career Development

AGU: Atmospheric Sciences Section Award & Geomagnetisim / Paleomagnetism Award


AGU Fellows (Aug 15)


AGU: Ocean Sciences Section Award & Hydrology Section Award

Guggenheim Fellowship


L’Oreal American Fellowship Program for Women Post-Docs ($40,000)

AGU Awards (Flinn Award for Cooperative Research, Geophysical Education, Sullivan and Perlman Awards for Journalism, Spilhaus Award for Public Understanding, Falkenberg Award)

Sigma Xi Awards: Procter Prize for Scientific Achievement ($5,000), McGovern Science and Society Award ($5,000), Chubb Award for Innovation ($4,000), Young Investigator Award ($5,000)


Ecological Society of America Awards


Radcliffe Institute Fellowships for Women Scientists ($70,000 for 1-year fellowship)


Paleontological Society Awards


American Association of Women Awards for Untenured Women Scholars and Senior Scholars ($10,000 awards)
Emerging Scholars:
Senior Scholars:

Geological Society of America Fellowships & Awards (including the GSA Subaru Women in Science Award)

Seismological Society of America Awards


New York Academy of Science, Blavatnik Award for Young Scientists

AGU Medals (Macelwane, Bowie, Ewing, Fleming, Hess, Horton, Revelle, Lehmann)


AAAS Fellowships

AGU: Volcanology, Geochemistry, and Petrology Section Award

American Meteorological Society Awards and Fellowships

Awards with Deadlines TBA:

Weizmann Women & Science Award ($25,000)

Franklin Institute Medals for Excellent in Science, Technology, and Industry

500 W. 120th St., Mudd 510, New York, NY 10027    212-854-2993